Sunday, May 01, 2005

Free Doctor Who eBooks from the BBC Bookmark and Share

The New Adventures series of Doctor Who novels were an experiment by Virgin Books to continue the Doctor's travels in print, following the TV show's cancellation in 1989. Between 1992 and 1997, 61 New Adventures were published, pitting the Seventh Doctor - alongside Ace and new companion Bernice Summerfield - against such scary monsters as the Cybermen, the Sontarans and the Chelonians - giant tortoises with a penchant for flower arranging.

In 1996, BBC Books decided that as part of its merchandising plans to accompany the anticipated rebirth of Doctor Who following the TV Movie, Virgin's current publishing licence - coincidentally due to expire - would not be renewed. We're now publishing a series of these books online, for free. Each comes with a whole host of extras, including brand new illustrations and detailed commentaries from the authors.

Free Doctor Who eBooks from the BBC.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home